Dating queensland houses
Thirteen years later when George and Patrick Leslie established Toolburra Station 56 miles (90 km) south-west of Toowoomba the first settlers arrived on the Downs and established a township of bark-slab shops called The Springs which was soon renamed Drayton.
Land for the town was first surveyed in 1849, then again in 1853.
It was designed by Peddle Thorp and Harvey, Paul Luff, and Gary Smallcombe and Associates. It was added to the Queensland Heritage Register on 6 March 2009.
It helps you think outside the box instead of sitting in some white-walled room.Towards the end of the 1840s Drayton had grown to the point where it had its own newspaper, general store, trading post and the Royal Bull's Head Inn, which was built by William Horton and still stands today.Horton is regarded as the true founder of Toowoomba, despite the fact that he was not the first man to live there.It holds a fond place in the memories of many domestic and overseas tourists who drove or were driven north of Brisbane on holiday road trips after 1971.Apart from the iconic value of the Big Pineapple structure itself, as a roadside attraction of the Big Thing variety, the entire 40 hectare complex, with its retail and restaurant spaces, train ride and Nutmobile, crops, rainforest, Macadamia Nut Factory, Big Macadamia, Tomorrow's Harvest greenhouse, Farm Show, Wildlife Gardens, and Animal Nursery, represents an early attempt at agri-tourism in Queensland.